Seno leads winners in Babolat net

Posted on October 11, 2012


Jan Godfrey Seno kept up his winning streak by adding another boys 14-under title to his growing collection this year via the Babolat Junior Tennis Circuit II held last weekend at the Mactan Islands Tennis Courts in Lapu-Lapu City and the Cebu International Tennis Center Inc. in Laray, Consolacion.

The University of San Carlos netter who was seeded seventh routed third seed Emmanuel Vacalares Jr., 6-2, 6-3, in the lopsided final.

He dismissed fellow Cebuano Christopher Encarnacion, 4-1, 4-1, in the semis and swept past Julian Dayrit, 4-1, 5-3, in the quarterfinals.

Other Cebuanos who valiantly defended their home turf were Francis Gener Lambayan, Zethley Mae Alferez and Jana Pages.

Lambayan pocketed the boys 12-under title after squeaking past Jacob Martin, 7-5, 6-4; Alferez notched the girls 12-under crown with a 6-1, 6-1 dismissal of Kristin Renee Salimbangon and Jana Pages cruised to the girls 14-under title with a 6-1, 6-4 thrashing of Carmela Llavore.

Most successful among the visitors were Manila’s top netter Eric Olivarez Jr. and Maia Balce who both went home with the 16 and 18 under titles in their respective divisions.

Olivarez squashed Stefan Suarez, 6-4, 6-4, for the boys 16-under title and survived the tough challenge posted by Dave Sebastian Mosqueda, 6-2, 5-7, 10-8, for the boys 18-under crown.

Balce, on the other hand, defeated Cebu’s Maimai Bornia, 6-2, 5-7, 10-2, for the girls 16-under title and tripped Bohol’s Dawn Albert Uy, 6-2, 5-7, 10-2, for the girls 18-under diadem.

The 10 under unisex saw Mark Alfred Directo claiming the title with a 6-1, 6-4 dismissal of Diego Dayrit.


Dericto then teamed up with Cesar Christopher Salimbangon to claim the boys 10 unisex doubles title against Sebastian Lhuillier and Dayrit.

The boys 14 doubles title went to the tandem of Jermaine Laurel and Encarnacion who beat Charlie Cabarrubias and Derek Tabotabo while Jessie Villarin and John Michael Necesario notched the 18-under title over Marc Norman Enriquez and Jarryd Laurel.

In the girls doubles competition, the 14-under title went to the pair of Shyne Villareal and Alferez against Pages and Rafa Villanueva while the 18-under crown was clinched by the Bangayan sisters Maribelle and Alexis who defeated Nathalie Alipe and Olive Enriquez.  /Correspondent Mars G. Alison

Posted in: Uncategorized