CQCU rips Babay Leyte, secures seat in Last 16

Posted on November 24, 2012


In contrast, FEU finished with a 2- 2 ( win- loss) record but is expected to go all out today behind reigning twotime juniors MVP, the soughtafter Cebuano Jerie Marlon Pingoy.

Also facing off for tickets to the semifinal round are Hope Christian High School and Xavier School while Chang Kai Shek School battle the Letran Squires. San Sebastian also takes on the University of Santo Tomas.

The CFA- CQCU left nothing to chance as it immediately went into attack mode, scoring the first goal with just six minutes into the match courtesy of Samsom Olaniyi. This was followed with another goal two minute s later via Joseph Rodriguez’s effort.

Dan Villarico chipped in his contribution in the 14th minute while Olaniyi closed out the first half with another goal after picking up a cross from Bryan Eborda pegging the score at 4- 0 in favor of CFACQCU.

CFA- CQCU’s scoring spree continued in the second half with Rodriguez scoring his second goal in the 69th minute, coming from another assist by Eborda.

Jade Paghubasan made it 6- 0 for CFA- CQCU in the 82nd minute.

Baybay Leyte FC was able to sneak in a goal in the 89th before Villarico scored his second goal of the game in the 91st minute.

A win against Ceres FC tomorrow will make the CFA- CQCU the top Visayas qualifier. However, CFA- CQCU will be up against a formidable foe whose lineup is beefed up with six Korean players and two former members of the Philippine U23 Philippine Azkals— Aldrin Dolino and Lemuel Unabia.

CFA- CQCU has only a Japanese and a Nigerian as reinforcements. But head coach Mario Ceniza said that the Japanese player will not be fielded for now.

Ceniza said they will scout Ceres FC first when it goes up against Baybay Leyte FC today. He said he will see if they need to make adjustments come game time. Don Bosco Technology Center ( DBTC) will begin its defense of its titles as matches kickoff today in the 15th Aboitiz Football Cup at the Aboitiz Sports Field in Subangdaku, Mandaue City.

In the 14th edition, DBTC clinched the titles in the players 8, players 10, boys 12 and boys 14 categories.

Categories which will begin action today are players 6, players 8, players 10, boys 12, boys 14 and girls 17.

The players 6 will be a 5- a- side mix, players 10 a 9- a- side mix, while the rest will be an 11- a- side competition.

The players 6 defending champions Bright Minds in Action Learning Village ( BMALV) did not field a team in the category. Instead, BMALV is taking its chances in the players 10 and boys 12.

DBTC, on the other hand, is keen to keep the title in its clutches by fielding several teams in each category and most of them will be playing today.

Another defending champion out to retain its title is the Sacred Heart School- Ateneo de Cebu in the girls 17. The Magis Eagles will go up against Colegio de la Inmaculada ( CIC) Mandaue, the team it bested for the title.

The other match for the category will see University of San Carlos going up against Cebu International School./ Mars G. Alison, Correspondent

Tagged: , ,
Posted in: Uncategorized